When your future is at stake,
hire only the very best.

Lakewood Harassment Attorney

Help For Harassment Charges From A Former Domestic Violence And Assault Prosecutor 

Colorado’s harassment law precludes several broad activities. Being convicted of this offense can result in a domestic violence enhancer when the alleged victim and offender share an intimate relationship.

If you are facing harassment charges in Lakewood, Colorado, call The Law Offices of Elaine E. Lukic as soon as possible to begin your defense.  Go with someone who is incredibly experienced as a Lakewood criminal defense lawyer.

At The Law Offices of Elaine E. Lukic, we are ready to help you. As a former prosecutor, attorney Elaine Lukic knows how the state prepares its cases – and also how to defeat them. With one of the highest acquittal and dismissal rates in the state, you can trust us to capably handle your case.

What Is Harassment In Lakewood? 

Colorado defines the crime of harassment in CRS 18-9-111 which generally divides acts into physical or digital acts. The law prohibits the acts of:

  • Striking, shoving, kicking, or otherwise touching a person or subjecting them to physical contact 
  • Using obscene language or gestures to or at another person in a public place
  • Following another person in a public place

It also prohibits initiating communication with another person to harass them, threaten bodily injury or property damage, or make an obscene comment through any of the following methods:

  • A phone
  • A phone network
  • Text message
  • Instant message
  • Data network
  • Computer
  • Computer network 
  • Computer system
  • Other interactive electronic medium 

This law also prohibits calling or causing a telephone to ring repeatedly with no purpose of having a legitimate conversation or making repeated communications at inconvenient times that invade the alleged victim’s privacy and interfere with their enjoyment of their home. It is also harassment for someone to persistently insult, taunt, challenge, or use offensive language to provoke a violent or disorderly response. 

How Can A Harassment Conviction Affect You?

Most cases of harassment are classified as Class 2 misdemeanors, which carry a potential sentence of up to 120 days in jail and a fine of up to $750. However, if the harassment was due to the alleged victim’s actual or perceived race, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, or disability, it is classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor. This can result in up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.

Legal Defense for Harassment Charges

There may be several viable defenses to harassment charges, many of which center upon the specific definitions included in the statute. We can try to argue that the prosecution has failed to meet its high burden of proof because:

  • You did not make the communication 
  • You had no physical contact with the alleged victim
  • You did not have the intent to annoy, harm, or alarm the victim
  • Your communication was not obscene or offensive
  • You were exercising your right to free speech 
  • Your communication was constitutionally protected 

We can investigate your case, listen to your side of the story, and mount a strong defense on your behalf. 

Contact a Lakewood Harassment Attorney  

If you are facing harassment charges in Lakewood or the Denver metro area, The Law Offices of Elaine E. Lukic can help. You need an experienced Lakewood domestic violence defense attorney on your side who understands the nuances of the state’s harassment law. Schedule your free initial consultation by calling (303) 809-3425.