According to Colorado laws, felony theft happens when someone intentionally steals someone else’s property with a value of at least $2,000. The Denver Post says that theft is among the crimes that are increasing faster in Colorado in comparison to the rest of the country.

The penalties for felony theft depend on the worth of the stolen property. Punishments may include restitution to the victim.

Definition

 Theft is a broad crime that encompasses various actions, including:

  • Taking property by false pretense.
  • Shoplifting
  • Taking co-owned property without approval of the other co-owner.

As long as the property in question is worth $2,000 or more, it is a felony offense.

Class 6 felony

 Theft of property with a value between $2,000 and $5,000 is punishable by a fine from $1,000 to $100,000 and one-and-a-half years in prison.

 Class 5 felony

 Theft of property with a value between $5,000 and $20,000 is punishable by a fine from $1,000 to $100,000 and up to three years in prison.

Class 4 felony

 Theft of property with a value between $20,000 and $100,000 is punishable by a fine from $2,000 to $500,000 and up to six years in prison.

Class 3 felony

 Theft of property with a value between $100,000 and $1,000,000 is punishable by a fine from $3,000 to $750,000 and up to 12 years in prison.

Class 2 felony

 Theft of property with a value of $1 million or more is punishable by a fine from $5,000 to $1,000,000 and up to 24 years in prison.