Drug penalties vary based on the class of drugs used or sold. Depending on the kind of drug you’re caught with, you could face a misdemeanor or felony, fines or imprisonment.
One drug that officers in Florida come across often is marijuana. In several states, it has been decriminalized, and in some, it’s totally legal. That’s not the case in Florida, where the possession of 20 grams or less still results in a misdemeanor and up to a year of incarceration. In fact, the maximum fine for your first offense is $1,000.
Possessing more than 20 grams of marijuana will instantly lead to a felony charge, which could land you in prison for up to 30 years. That’s a shock considering the multitude of opinions on this drug across the country.
Selling marijuana is also dangerous in Florida and can lead to a felony if you make any money from the sale. Selling 25 pounds or less leads to a risk of five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. Selling within 1,000 feet of a school, park, college or other specified areas could lead to a penalty of up to 15 years in prison and $10,000 in fines. Even simply possessing paraphernalia is a misdemeanor in the state.
If you’re accused of possessing marijuana, you could also find yourself charged with intending to sell it. Remember that its important to take steps to protect yourself if you’re accused of using or selling drugs. If you don’t, you could end up facing a jail or prison sentence.
Source: NORML, “Florida Laws & Penalties,” accessed May 11, 2018